NSF-catalyzed Innovations in the Undergraduate Curriculum

Organizer: Susan Hixson, Division of Undergraduate Education, National Science Foundation, Arlington, VA, tel: (703) 292-4623, fax (703) 292-9015, Email: shixson@nsf.gov (Invited only)

This symposium included papers on an overview of NSF-DUE programs that support undergraduate education by E. Chang, H. Sevian, B. Holmes, and S. Hixson; creating pathways for student success by P. A. Brown; the University of Kansas Noyce Phase II Scholarship & Stipend Program by J. A. Heppert, S. B. Case, and M. D. Barker; ChemEd DL, an online resource for chemistry education by J. W. Moore, J. Shorb, G. Bandos, and E. Vitz; a national survey to determine the needs of college chemistry instructors for professional development related to assessment by T. Holme, K. Murphy, and M. Emenike; automated analysis of student writing reveals student thinking: An innovative assessment methodology built on community goals by M. Urban-Lurain, J. E. Merrill, J. C. Libarkin, T. Long, R. Nehm, J. K. Knight, K. Haudek, M. K. Smith, and J. Ridgway; before, during and after class activities in general chemistry by J. I. Gelder, M. R. Abraham, and T. J. Greenbowe; and Central Ideas of Molecular Science (CIMS): A cross-disciplinary approach by D. J. Yaron, C. A. Ashe, M. S. Karabinos, L. M. Bartolo, J. J. Portman, C. Carter, and D. R. Sadoway.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer