Passer Funds Award Committee Report, Fall 2012

The Passer Fund Awards Committee received applications from eleven colleagues for the April 1, 2012 submission deadline.  All applications were reviewed by all committee members and information shared via e-mail. 

The following will receive monetary support from the Passer Funds account to assist with their professional development as teachers of chemistry at their respective institutions.

Johnson Agbo, Sterling College, Sterling, KS                                                                                 
Attend:  NSF-cCWCS Forensics Workshop, Williams College, Williamstown, MA (June 12-19, 2012)

Scott Donnelly, Arizona Western College, Yuma, AZ
Attend:  Teaching Professor Workshop, Blended Learning Course Design: A Boot Camp for Instructors, Cambridge, MA (Sept 29-30, 2012)

Thomas Higgins, City College of Chicago, Chicago, IL
Attend his choice of one of the following described in his application request.

  • Chatauqua Course Science, Theology and Theory of Evolution, UT-Austin, Austin, TX (June 7 - 9, 2012)
  • NSF-cCWSC Food Chemistry Workshop, Clarke College, Dubuque, Iowa (July 15 - 20, 2012)
  • Chatauqua Course The Birthplace and Early History of the Aomic Bomb, Albuquerque, NM (Oct 4 - 6, 2012)           

Kathleen Kristian, Iona College, New Rochelle, NY                                                         
Attend:  NSF-cCWCS Forensics Workshop, Williams College, Williamstown, MA (June 12 - 17, 2012)

Rusty Myers, Alaska Pacific Univ, Anchorage, AK                                                                        
Attend:  NSF-cCWCS Nucleic Acids Workshop, GA State College, Atlanta, GA (May 6 - 11, 2012)

Kazi Rahman,  Mt. Olive College, Mt. Olive, NC                                                                          
Attend: NSF-cCWCS Green Chemistry Workshop,  Eugene, OR (July 14 - 19, 2012)

Christy Vogel, Cabrillo College, Sacramento, CA
Attend:  NSF-cCWCS Forensics Workshop, Williams College, Williamstown, MA (June 12 - 17, 2012)

The committee is pleased to be able to support our colleagues who are dedicated to improving the teaching/learning activities for their students that Moses and Dorothy Passer believed to be so important.

Committee Members
Clarita Bhat      Angela Powers
Mark Bryant       Arlene Russell
Lucy Garmon       Anna Wilson
Sue Nurrenbern

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer