DivCHED serves as a means of focusing and enhancing the interests and efforts of all constituencies involved in the teaching and learning of chemistry at every level.
slideshow 1 slideshow 2 slideshow 3 slideshow 4 slideshow 5

-Chemical Education News & Announcements-

Welcome to the ACS Division of Chemical Education website. Here you can keep up-to-date with activities, news, and opportunities in chemical education. Do you have something interesting you'd like to share with the Division?
Let us know!

Pacifichem 2015 Call for Abstracts Extended to April 15

Feedback from the Pacifichem 2015 Symposium Organizers -- many organizers are ACS Society and Division Members -- indicated an extension of the deadline date.  Also, many Pacifichem 2015 organizers were at the recent ACS National Meeting in Denver and other scientific conferences at the end of March, and used the opportunity to contact additional invited speakers who wanted to submit abstracts within the Call for Abstracts deadline.

ACS Student Representative to UN Climate Conference in Paris

The deadline to apply to serve as an ACS student representative to the December 2015 UN climate conference (COP 21) in Paris, France is May 1, 2015. 

NERM 2015, ACS Northeast Regional Meeting

The Cornell Section of the American Chemical Society will host the 40th Northeast Regional Meeting (NERM 2015) at Ithaca College, Ithaca NY.

Meeting theme: The Finger Lakes Region Goes Green!
Abstract Submissions deadline: Monday, April 6, 2015
Online Registration deadline: May 22, 2015

Nominations for ACS Fellows Opens February 1, 2015

Nominations for ACS fellows opened February 1, 2015 and close at 11:59PM April 1, 2015.  The American Chemical Society (ACS) Fellows Program was created by the ACS Board of Directors in December 2008 to recognize members of ACS for outstanding achievements in and contributions to science, the profession, and the Society. Eligibility criteria for nominees and nominators  and the selection criteria  can be found here: http://www.acs.org/content/acs/en/funding-and-awards/fellows/eligibility-criteria.html

Congratulations to the January 2015 Passer Education Grant Awardees

Michael Fultz, West Virginia State University
LC/MS: The Techniques of Electrospray, APCI and APPI sponsored by the American Society of Mass Spectroscopy in St. Louis, MO in 2015

Charles Abrams,Truman College 
3-D Printing: From Trinkets to Teaching in July 2015 at the Center for Biomolecular Modeling in Milwaukee, WI

Deborah Rosenthal, Washington State Community College
Laboratory Safety/Chemical Hygiene Officer Course in July 2015 in Norfolk, VA

Sarah St Angelo, Dickinson College
Heterogeneous Catalysis: An IONiC Summer Workshop at the Frontiers of Inorganic Chemistry in the summer of 2015 at the University of Washington in Seattle, WA

Timothy Trygstad, College of St. Scholastica
GC-MS Training in August 2015 as part of the Unity Lab Services Courses offered in West Palm Beach, FL 

James Yoder. Hesston College
Nanotechnology Chautaugua Course in May 2015 in Dayton, Ohio

For information on the Dorothy and Moses Passer Education Grants (Established 1992), visit http://www.divched.org/awards/dorothy-and-moses-passer-education-fund-0.

Special election results for the 2015 DivCHED Chair-Elect

We have concluded the special election for Chair-Elect for 2015. The winner is Cathy Middlecamp of the University of Wisconsin.

Considerations for Choosing Stat Packages in CER

by Jordan Harshman

*A list of stat program acronyms that I use throughout this blog is at the end.

Chances are, sometime in your CER-related career you’ll end up with the need (possibly even the desire) to analyze quantitative data. In the analysis and visualization of quantitative data, you have a growing list of statistical programs to choose from. The impetus for writing this blog post is something that I hope I can convince you of: which program(s) you choose to analyze your data directly influences the quality of your analysis, therefore your research.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer