DivCHED serves as a means of focusing and enhancing the interests and efforts of all constituencies involved in the teaching and learning of chemistry at every level.
slideshow 1 slideshow 2 slideshow 3 slideshow 4 slideshow 5

-Chemical Education News & Announcements-

Welcome to the ACS Division of Chemical Education website. Here you can keep up-to-date with activities, news, and opportunities in chemical education. Do you have something interesting you'd like to share with the Division?
Let us know!

General Chemistry Performance Expectations Workshop

The American Chemical Society (ACS) invites faculty from two- and four-year higher education institutions to submit team (2-3 member) applications to the 2017 General Chemistry Performance Expectations Workshop. The goal of this workshop is to advance the development of general chemistry performance expectations so as to better align course design, instruction, assessment, and student transfer across and within higher education institutions. The 2017 workshop is scheduled for September 29-October 1 at the ACS Headquarters in Washington, D.C. Participants in the workshop will be introduced to the nature and use of performance expectations as an organizing principle for instruction, student knowledge development, and assessment. Accepted participants will be provided with background materials in advance and will be asked to join in an introductory webinar and complete pre-workshop assignments during the late summer/early fall. Applicants will need to document, as part of the application process, that they will have the opportunity to implement successful plans during the Spring 2018 semester. Please contact Dr. Ashley Donovan (a_donovan@acs.org) for additional information. Applications will be accepted until mid-July or until capacity of 35 participants is reached.

Gearing up for the Spring 2018 meeting in New Orleans

Greetings from the Program Committee of the Division of Chemical Education!

Even though we hope you are getting ready to come join us for the D.C. meeting in August, we are also working behind the scenes, gearing up for the Spring 2018 meeting in New Orleans.

This note is to solicit your suggested symposia - something that you might like to organize for this meeting. Proposals are solicited for any chemical education-related topic. It would be especially great to have proposals related to the meeting's primary theme: The Food, Energy, Water Nexus. Sessions that are already in the works are listed below.

If you have an idea, please send it, by June 30, to New Orleans meeting co-chairs Carmen Gauthier Valdez and Nicole Snyder. After that date symposia will still be considered however, they will not appear in the Chemical & Engineering News Call For Papers. 

Best wishes,

Irv Levy - DivCHED Program Chair, 2017 (irv.levy@gordon.edu)
Carmen Gauthier Valdez - New Orleans meeting co-chair (cgauthier@flsouthern.edu)
Nicole Snyder - New Orleans meeting co-chair (nsnyder@snyderglycosciencegroup.org)

ACS Division of Chemial Education Travel Awards

Did you know.....

The Division of Chemical Education offers a number of travel awards to its members?

The Dorothy and Moses Passer Education Grants (Established 1992) provide support for faculty in small programs and who are somewhat isolated from others in their discipline. Awards will be to individuals who teach chemistry or chemical technology as a full time faculty members at an undergraduate 2- or 4-year United States college that does not have a graduate program in the chemical sciences. The next application deadline is September 1, 2017. Visit the Division website for more information and to apply.

The Division of Chemical Education Travel Award grants financial support for travel to BCCE or ACS National Meetings for DivCHED members. To be considered for this award, you must be in at least your third year as a member of the Division of Chemical Education at the time of application. The next award application deadline is September 15, 2017. Click here for more information and to apply.

The Division of Chemical Education International Travel Award supports a member of the Division who presents and fully participates in an international chemical education conference held outside the U.S. The applicant must be a member of the Division of Chemical Education and be a full-time college, university, or high school faculty member. Preference will be given to junior and/or under-represented faculty members who have not had the opportunity to attend an international meeting in chemical education. The next applcation deadline is November 30, 2017. Visit the Division website for more information.

What Chemists Do - Mary Beth Mulcahy, Ph.D, investigator at the U.S. Chemical Safety Board

DivCHED member Mary Beth Mulcahy, Ph.D, is feature in the ACS What Chemists Do video series. Dr. Mulcahy is an investigator at the U.S. Chemical Safety Board. Listen as Mulcahy shares her experience working at the CSB and what it takes for young professionals to be an investigator.

UNIVERSITY OF NEBRASKA-LINCOLN Assistant Professor in Chemical Education Research

Apply online (http:employment.unl.edu) to Requisition #F_160086

The Department of Chemistry at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln (UNL) invites applications for a tenure-track position at the Assistant Professor level. The position is anticipated to emphasize research that complements current departmental efforts in chemical education. This includes research areas such as assessment, fundamental investigations of student learning in chemistry, investigations of efficacy and effectiveness of research-based instructional strategies, and student retention in chemistry.


In today’s economy, knowledge is key. Advanced education provides individuals with access to many opportunities for meaningful and impactful careers, and benefits employers who rely on new and better ideas to innovate and compete. Given the importance of these individuals to our economy, it is vital to understand their employment characteristics. Using this interactive infographic, explore the diverse pathways traveled by science, engineering, and health (SEH) doctorates as they progress through their careers.

Maximizing Your Conference Experience

By David Wren

Conferences are many things to many people. They can be both exciting and stressful, a lot of work and a lot of fun. Conferences can be expensive, when registration, travel, food and lodging are all factored in. So how do you maximize your conference experience? We (Younger Chemistry Education Scholars) asked 22 experienced conference-goers for their tips on how to get the most out of a conference. We are excited to share with you the results of this informal survey and hope you find their sage advice beneficial! So, before heading to your first or next conference, here are some pro-tips on getting the most out of your time at a conference.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer