ACS Awards Recognizing DivCHED Members During the San Diego Meeting

George Bodner, Chair, ACS Division of Chemical Education

The ACS Awards Banquet at the San Diego meeting will provide us with the opportunity to celebrate the accomplishments of four DivCHED members. As a member of the ACS Board of Directors, I will have the privilege of presenting at least one of these awards.Loretta Jones

The ACS Award for Achievement in Research for the Teaching and Learning of Chemistry supported Pearson Education, was created six years ago to recognize contributions to research that have increased our understanding of chemical pedagogy and led to the improved teaching and learning of chemistry. The award honors qualitative, quantitative, experimental research or case study research that investigates some aspect of the teaching and learning of chemistry. This year’s recipient is Loretta Jones, from the University of Northern Colorado, who was the 2006 Chair of DivCHED. A symposium in her honor will be held on Tuesday, March 27th, in the Crystal I Ballroom of the Westin San Diego.

Ingrid MontesThe Award for Volunteer Service to the American Chemical Society, sponsored by the ACS, was created to recognize the volunteer efforts of individuals who have contributed significantly to the goals and objectives of the ACS. A glance at the list of recipients of this award over its nine-year lifetime would led one to suspect that members of DivCHED understand, more than most, the importance of service to their institution, to their community, and to the Society to which we belong. This year, it is a distinct pleasure to recognize the many contributions to Ingrid Montes, from the University of Puerto Rico at Rio Piedras.

James Bryant Conant Award in High School Chemistry Teaching, supported by the Thermo Fisher Scientific Inc., was created to recognize, encourage, and stimulate outstanding teachers of high school chemistry. This award recognizes the quality of teaching (focusing on unusually effective methods of presentation); the ability to challenge and inspire students; extracurricular work in chemistry including science fairs, science clubs, and activities that stimulate the interest of young people in chemistry and related sciences; and willingness to keep up-to-date in the field, as evidenced by pursuit of a higher degree in chemistry, enrollment in refresher courses and summer institutions, regular attendance at scientific meetings, and other means of self-improvement. This is the 40th anniversary of the creation of the Conant Award, and the recipient is Roxie Allen, from St. John’s School, in Houston, TX, who will present her award address during the High School Day Program on Sunday, March 25th.

Diane BunceThe George C. Pimentel Award in Chemical Education, sponsored by Cengage Learning and the ACS, recognizes outstanding contributions to chemical education considered in its broadest meaning, including the training of professional chemists; the dissemination of reliable information about chemistry to prospective chemists, members of the profession, students in other fields, and the general public; and the integration of chemistry into our educational system. Among the just more than 60 recipients of this award, since 1952, one finds Nobel laureates (e.g., Hoffman, Pauling and Seaborg), individuals with international reputations for contributions to both chemistry and chemical education, many of the historic figures in the field of chemical education, and at least six individuals who have served as President of the ACS. This year’s recipient of the Pimentel Award is Diane Bunce, from The Catholic University of Americam, who was Chair of DivCHED in 2000. A symposium in her honor has been scheduled for Monday morning and afternoon, March 26th, in the Crystal Ballroom II of the Westin San Diego Hotel.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer