Passer Funds Award Committee Report, Spring 2013

Sue Nurrenbern, Chair (2012 - 2014),

The January 1, 2013 submission and review cycle has been completed.  The Passer Award Review Committee has approved and set aside funds to assist three people (Lisa Hoferkamp, Annemarie Ross, and Mohamed Ayoub) to take advantage of workshops and courses that are being offered in 2013 as they pursue continuing education and professional development experiences. 

  • Lisa Hoferkamp is an Associate Professor of Chemistry at the University of Alaska Southeast; Natural Sciences in Juneau, AK.  Lisa plans to attend a cCWCS Environmental Chemistry workshop.
  • Annemarie Ross is an Assistant Professor at Rochester Institute of Technology, National Technical Institute for the Deaf, Laboratory Science Technology Program, in Rochester, NY.  Annemarie plans to attend an ACS Effective Technical Writing course.
  • Mohamed Ayoub, is the Associate Chair, Department of Chemistry, University of Wisconsin Colleges and an Associate Professor of Chemistry, University of Wisconsin-Washington County, in West Bend, WI.  Mohamed must decide if he will use Passer Award funds to support his attendance at an Active Learning OR an Environmental Chemistry workshop. 

Interest generated by the Dorothy and Moses Passer Education Fund Endowment is the source of funds for the awards.  In the current economy, this interest does not generate a huge amount of money but the Passer Award Review Committee tries to provide some assistance for all requests that meet the criteria for funding.  Additionally, funds are not available to support multiple requests from one individual.  The Passer Education Fund does not support requests to purchase or acquire lab or other teaching equipment and does not support student or faculty research projects.

The Dorothy and Moses Passer Education Fund Endowment was set up to assist faculty members at institutions without graduate programs pursue their continuing education effort. The Passer Education Fund Endowment requires that award recipients broaden their experiences by attending a program, course, or workshop that is away from their home institutions and related to their teaching needs.  The Passers felt that it is critical that chemistry faculty in two- and four-year institutions without graduate programs be able to continue their professional growth and maintain current levels of teaching skills and content knowledge.  The ultimate goal is that increased learning by faculty will transfer to a positive learning experience for their students. 

The next submission deadline is April 1, 2013.  Applications must be sent via e-mail to or  The Passer Award Review Committee looks forward to receiving your applications.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer