Call for Nominations: The 2018 James Flack Norris Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Teaching of Chemistry

Deadline: April 15, 2018

Nominations are invited for the 2018 James Flack Norris Award, which consists of a certificate and an honorarium of $3,000 and is given annually by the Northeastern Section (NESACS).  The presentation will take place at a ceremony and dinner in Fall 2018, and will include a formal address by the awardee.  The Award was established in 1950 by NESACS to honor the memory of James Flack Norris (1871-1940), a professor of chemistry at Simmons College and M.I.T., chair of NESACS in 1904, and ACS President in 1925-26. 

Individuals or teams of individuals may be nominated.  Nominee(s) should have served with special distinction as teachers of chemistry at any level: secondary school, college, and/or graduate school.  With the presentation of the first Award in 1951, awardees have included many eminent teachers at all levels whose efforts have had a wide-ranging effect on chemical education.  The recipient will be selected from an international list of nominees who have served with special distinction as teachers of chemistry with significant achievements.

A nomination in the form of a letter should focus on the candidate or candidates’ contributions to and effectiveness in teaching chemistry.  Curriculum vitae should be included and, where appropriate, a list of honors, awards, and publications related to chemical education.  Seconding letters may also be included; these should show the impact of the nominee or nominees’ teaching for inspiring colleagues and students toward an active life in the chemical sciences, and attest to the influence of the individual or team’s other activities in chemical education, such as textbooks, journal articles, or other professional activity at the local, national, and international level.

The nomination materials should consist of the primary nomination letter, supporting letters, and curriculum vitae.  Reprints or other publications should NOT be included.  The material should not exceed thirty (30) pages, and should be submitted electronically in Adobe PDF format through April 15, 2018 to Ms. Anna Singer, NESACS Administrative Secretary <>.  For more information about the Award, see <>.

Questions about the Award or the nomination process should be directed to the Chair of the Norris Award Committee, Mark Tebbe, tebbe.mj@gmail.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer