Skip to main content

DivCHED Member Spotlight

Dr. Melissa ReevesDr. Melissa Reeves is the newest member of the Finance Committee in the Division of Chemical Education. She is a Professor at Tuskegee University and served for more than 10 years on the Physical Chemistry Exam Committee from the ACS Exams Institute. Her volunteer work in the Division has created opportunities for her to participate in ACS National Meetings and complete a sabbatical in the Exams Institute with the support of a Theodore Ashford Fellowship. She is currently a member of the Board of Trustees in our Division where she continues to strengthen our chemistry education efforts.

COCTYC/2YC3 Member Highlights

Members of the Committee on Chemistry in the Two-Year Colleges and Two-Year College Chemistry Consortium have some excited announcements. Congratulations Melanie and Scott!

Melanie Harvey (2YC3 Membership Chair) is the co-PI on a recently awarded NSF grant "Building a Sustainable Community College CURE Program" (DUE-2211697). This is a four-year grant under the NSF program “Advancing Innovation and Impact in Undergraduate STEM Education at Two-year Institutions of Higher Education.”

Scott Donnelly (2YC3 Future Meetings Chair) is the PI on a recently awarded USDA NIFA grant which will purchase one GC-MS and two 1H/19F/13C 60MHz benchtop NMRs. This equipment will be used to incorporate food fraud into the General Chemistry and Organic Chemistry curricula.

Proposed Changes to ACS Division Funding

Proposed Changes to ACS Division Funding The spring 2021 ACS Councilors’ meeting will include a vote on changes to the formula used to allocate a portion of ACS dues out to the 32 technical divisions, including the Division of Chemical Education. We encourage you to read the summary below of the proposed changes and reach out to not only our CHED Councilors (Roxie Allen, Sally Mitchell) and Alternate Councilors (Laura Anna, Rachel Morgan Theall, Steven Fleming, Marty Perry), but also to your Local Section Councilors to let them know whether or not you support the proposed changes to the allocation formula. The DivCHED Executive Committee (“ExComm”) will be discussing this proposed change at the Open Session of our meeting on Saturday, March 20, 2021 at 1:30 pm CST. 

What has been the historical allocation formula for technical divisions?

2020 Outstanding Service to the Division Awardee, Marcy Towns

Dr. Marcy Towns, Purdue University

Dr. Marcy Towns, Purdue University, was awarded the 2020 Outstanding Service to the Division Award. Marcy's service includes:

  • Division leadership includes Chair succession, Program Chair, Alt. Councilor
  • Associate Editor, JCE
  • Member of the Exams Institute Board of Directors
  • Key member (sometimes chair) of several committees including CER, program committee, strategic planning, CPN
  • Organizing committee for 2006 BCCE and General chair for 2022 BCCE
  • Strong promoter of the Division, Chemistry, and Chemistry Education Research in the US and internationally.
  • Congratulations, Marcy! Thank you for your division service!

Congratulations to the 2020 ACS Fellows

The American Chemical Society named 53 members as ACS fellows in 2020. The following list includes those named who are DivCHED members. Congratulations!

Penny J. Beuning, Northeastern University
Deborah H. Cook, Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey (Retired)
David J. Malik, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis (Emeritus)
Ajay Mallia, Georgia Gwinnett College Zaida
Cecilia Morales-Martinez, Florida International University (Emeritus)
Sarah E. Morgan, University of Southern Mississippi
Michael A. Morgan, Francisco Bravo Medical Magnet High School, Los Angeles
John M. Newsam, Tioga Research
MaryKay Orgill, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Erica A. Posthuma, University High School of Indiana
Sherri Conn Rukes, Libertyville High School
Margareta Séquin, San Francisco State University